Electric Vehicles

By mmuise

The Arctic Energy Alliance (AEA) provides rebates to reduce the cost of purchasing and using several types of electric vehicles (EVs) in the Northwest Territories (NWT), including passenger EVs, e-bikes and on-the-land EVs. Switching to an electric vehicle can help consumers reduce the amount of greenhouse gas emissions released to the atmosphere from vehicles that use fossil fuels.

Comments on Funding:

Funding takes the form of rebates. Rebates vary according to vehicle types.

Deadline: Applications are closed. Stay tuned for future intake announcements.

Applicants must:

  • be:
    a) Individuals;
    b) Businesses;
    c) not-for-profit organizations;
    d) community and indigenous governments.
  • live in a community connected to the NWT’s hydroelectric grid (Behchokǫ, Dettah, Enterprise, Fort Resolution, Fort Smith, Hay River, Kátł’odeeche, Ndilǫ or Yellowknife) if they are purchasing an eligible passenger EV or charging station.
  • have a lease period of 48 months (four years) or longer if they are leasing an electric passenger vehicle.

    Eligible Products:
  • New battery electric passenger vehicles;
  • New plug-in hybrid electric passenger vehicles;
  • New Level 2 electric charging stations for home use;
  • Electric bicycles and tricycles;
  • Electric all-terrain vehicles (ATVs);
  • Electric boat motors (including batteries);
  • Electric snowmobiles.
    E-bikes must be purchased after March 31, 202

  • E-bikes and on-the-land EVs are eligible for rebates in any community in the NWT.
Application Steps:


Documentation Needed:


Other Things to Note:

They’re no longer accepting applications for e-bike rebates for the 2023/24 fiscal year; they’ve reached the limit for the number of applications they can accept this year.

About the author